| Home. | Universe Galaxies And Stars Archives. | 
Universe Galaxies Stars logo.
     | Universe | Big Bang | Galaxies | Stars | Solar System | Planets | Hubble Telescope | NASA | Search Engine |

Proton Launches Three Satellites.


Ten Years Since The Revolution at Amazon.

SAS Black Ops at Amazon.
Amazon Kindle EBook Reader: Click For More Information.

Space News for December 3, 2001

Cosmonaut
NASA
Cosmonauts Fix Progress Docking Problem

Russian Cosmonauts Vladimir Dezhurov and Mikhail Tyurin spent 2.5 hours walking in space Monday morning to help fix an improperly docked Progress cargo ship. The pair exited the International Space Station at 1320 GMT (8:20am EST) and found that it was a defective rubberized o-ring seal that was stopping the Progress from making a "hard lock" with the station. With this problem overcome, Endeavour has been cleared for launch on Tuesday at 2245 GMT (5:45pm EST).

Proton
RSA
Proton Launches Three Satellites

A Russian Proton-K rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome on Sunday carrying a payload of three replacement satellites for Russia Global Navigation satellite System. Liftoff occurred at 1804 GMT (1:04 pm EST), and the three satellites - two standard Uragan models and one advanced Uragan-M version - were placed into a successful orbit four hours later.

Wet Mars
NASA
When Mars Was Wet

NASA scientists have created an image of what Mars might have looked like billions of years ago when they believe it was covered with water. Using data acquired by the Far Ultraviolet Spectroscopic Explorer (FUSE) spacecraft, scientists measured the amount of molecular Hydrogen present in the planet's atmosphere. Based on this quantity, they estimated that there was enough water on Mars to create an ocean 1.25 kilometers deep in places.

Similar Stories: For More Information About Mars Visit Our Topics SectionMars



  Go To Print Article  


Universe - Galaxies and Stars: Links and Contacts

the web this site
 | GNU License | Contact | Copyright | WebMaster | Terms | Disclaimer | Top Of Page. |